What’s so Great about Faith?

Posted: December 3, 2009 in The Bible

When I read the Bible I have a tendency to kind of over look things. Really I don’t do this intentionally. I kind of like to cover as much ground just to grab a thought for the day. But something really got my attention.

A Centurion was looking for Jesus and he asked him to heal his servant. Obviously, this man was in desperate need considering the act of going to a Jew for help.

The Romans and the Jews were at each others throats at the time. There was this cultural emmersion into Hellenistic culture and practice. Rome tolerated the Jews, but the Jews were known for their rebellion. Also, The Greek Bible, The Septuagint, was a product of this cultural challenge because they didn’t want their kids to lose their legacy since they were all learning Greek instead of Hebrew.

So, the Centurion wasn’t seen in a friendly light.

He asked Jesus to heal his servant, but he also said that Jesus didn’t need to come into his house. It like the Centurion was fully aware of the criticism Jesus would receive for coming into his house. I think this is more likely the reason for him refusing the kind gesture of Jesus. Also think Jesus was less mindful of the criticism that the Centurion.

Now this is where things get weird. He says,  “I’m not worthy for you to come into my house.” It’s almost like he had a sense of shame. Then the Centurion says this to Jesus, “Just say the word and my servant would be healed.” The then uses his own occupation as an analogy of the authority he believed Jesus to have.

Jesus then turns tot he people and says “I have not seen so great faith in Israel…” This is where my attention got serious.  What’s so great about the Centurions faith?

Jesus was seen as a prophet among his people. They saw him as a kind of Jeremiah or like John the Baptist. But, the centurion saw him as something greater. He saw Jesus as divine, not just a prophet. Why is this? Jesus didn’t ‘need’ to come to his house or be anywhere near the servant. He said “Jesus just speak it and it will happen”. He stood in contrast to the majority of Jews who followed Jesus.

I think I understand why his faith was great. It wasn’t because he had more knowledge to believe or some quality of faith. It was his view of Jesus. He was divine; a man of authority over life itself. Not just a prophet.

I think great faith isn’t a quality of faith at all. Great faith has it’s greatness in who you believe Jesus to be! That’s a rather shocking revelation to me and less of a ‘law’ or ‘requirement’ so to speak.

I guess we can all stop getting so anxious about the quality of our faith. Contrary to popular belief, if you  know and believe that Jesus is the Son of God and not just a prophet, then, in this modern science driven world that’s great faith to me and it’s great faith to Jesus!

Peace.

Comments
  1. Kangnamgu says:

    I concur. In a similar fashion is it important to not only question our believe in God, but our idea of God. Who do we believe God to be? Is God an ever angry God, or an ever loving God? Do you see God to be a God of mercy and grace, or do you see God with his wip and lightning bolts just waiting for you to step out of line.

    “Great faith,” as you put it, is then not so much the quantity of faith. “Great faith has it’s greatness in who you believe Jesus to be” and as an extention, who you believe God to be.

    • That’s also very true. I remember my idea of God changed significanty as I became embittered with my experience. A negative Christian experience can be a point of contention against the Biblical expression of who Christ showed the father to be. This situation really caused me to ask the question: “how can you descern God in your experience?” I blindly attributed everything bad that happened to me as an “Act of God”! This view became like a vacuum of reasoning. While God does place us in situations to make us stronger, the Bible taught me never sends us ‘up a creek without a paddle’.

Leave a comment